The Annual Conference gives WAPC the opportunity to acknowledge the accomplishments of individuals and groups. The awards presented at the annual banquet on April 23, 2018, included the Callon-Leonard Award, President's Award, and Recognition Awards.

WAPC awarded its highest honor, the prestigious Callon-Leonard Award, to Phillip Nielsen, MSW. Mr. Nielsen is a Social Worker in La Crosse dedicated to helping infants and families. For the past 20 years, he has organized the Child Maltreatment Conference and worked with community stakeholders to create Stepping Stones, a multi-disciplinary child advocacy center. Mr. Nielsen has held a number of leadership positions within WAPC since he became the Allied-Health Western Region Representative in 1996 and he is currently the Chair of the Perinatal Foundation Program Committee. Mr. Nielsen has clearly demonstrated his dedication and leadership in advocating for high-quality care of infants and families in the NICU throughout his career. This annual award, first presented in 1976 in recognition of WAPC founders Helen F. Callon, RN, CNM, and Thomas A. Leonard, MD, celebrates the efforts of an individual, like Phillip Nielson, to improve the health of mothers, infants, and families in Wisconsin. Thank you, Mr. Nielsen, for all that you do!

(l to r) Ann Conway, Phillip Nielsen, and Lisa Lokken

The President's Award is given by the WAPC president to an individual or group that exemplifies the values of WAPC—collaboration, advocacy, and education. President Cresta Jones, MD, FACOG, selected Fredrik Broekhuizen, MD, to receive the award posthumously. During his lifetime, Frits embodied the values of WAPC through his leadership on the Perinatal Foundation Board, collaboration with colleagues throughout the state, and support of WAPC and Perinatal Foundation programming and continuing education opportunities. Frits is greatly missed but the values he embodied will continue to live on through the establishment of a Perinatal Foundation fund in his honor that will support the work of his WAPC colleagues.


Fredrik Broekhuizen